Governor D Y Patil, who administered the oath to Manjhi, handpicked by outgoing CM Nitish Kumar, and 17 Ministers at a function at Raj Bhawan, directed the new government to seek a trust vote on the floor of the House on May 23.
The new Cabinet comprised all ministers of the Nitish Kumar government.
Vijay Chaudhary was the first to take oath after Manjhi. Vijendra Prasad Yadav, Narendra Singh, Brishen Patel, Ramai Ram and Bhim Singh followed.
The Cabinet has one woman member, Lessi Singh and a Muslim, Shahid Ali Khan.
Two Independents Dulal Chand Goswami and Binay Bihari were rewarded for supporting the government after it became a minority following parting of ways with the BJP.
Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi tweeted "Congratulations to Shri Jitan Ram Manjhi on taking over as Bihar Chief Minister ... I wish him the very best and assure our support in development of Bihar."
Emerging from nearly 45-minute swearing in ceremony, Manjhi told reporters that he would seek a trust vote of his government on May 23 and expand his Cabinet thereafter.

Modi greets Manjhi, assures support in development
Minutes after Jitan Ram Manjhi was sworn in as Chief Minister of Bihar on Tuesday, Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi greeted the JD(U) leader and assured support in development of the state.
"Congratulations to Shri Jitan Ram Manjhi on taking over as Bihar Chief Minister....I wish him the very best and assure support in development of Bihar," Modi tweeted minutes after Manjhi took over as Chief Minister.
BJP president Rajnath Singh and the senior party leader Sushil Kumar Modi also congratulated Manjhi.
Nitish Kumar had resigned from the chief ministership two days ago taking moral responsibility for the JD(U)'s poor performance in the Lok Sabha elections winning a meagre two seats as against 20 it had won five years ago.


Latest News from India News Desk