Ganai, who currently is Financial Commissioner, Industries and Commerce Department of the state, was appointed as Chairman of the Public Service Commission at a cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister Omar Abdullah in Srinagar on Friday evening, an official spokesman said.
The other members of the Commission are IAS office Sheikh Mushtaq Ahmad, former IFS officer Mukherjeet Sharma, former Director General, Economics and Statistics B R Lachotra, former Director General, Accounts and Treasuries Wali Mohammad Bhat, former Professor Ophthalmology Tejit Singh and former Director Animal Husbandry Farooq Ahmad Kaloo.
The Commission had become almost defunct when the previous Chairman S L Bhat relinquished office on 10th September, leaving former IAS officer K B Jandial as the only member of the nine-member recruitment body.

The Commission could not conduct much work on administrative or recruitment from for the past one month in absence of a chairman.
The cabinet also appointed G H Tantray, former Commissioner Secretary, as Chairman Jammu and Kashmir Board of Professional Entrance Examination (JKBOPEE) for a period of two years, the spokesman said.

Latest News from Jammu and Kashmir News Desk