According to an Election Commission order, in any election being held after May 1, the ballot papers will carry the picture of the candidate with his or her name and party symbol to avoid confusion among the electorate in constituencies where namesakes are contesting.
The June 27 by-polls are the first since the order came into effect.
Besides Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar, from where the AIADMK leader is contesting, by-elections would be held in Chokpot (Meghalaya), Aruvikkara (Kerala), Pratapgarh and Surma (Tripura) and Garoth (Madhya Pradesh).
Jayalalithaa, who took over as Chief Minister for the fifth time recently, has to get elected to the Legislative Assembly within six months of assuming office. AIADMK MLA from Radhakrishnan Nagar Constituency P Vetrivel had resigned amid speculation that Jayalalithaa may contest the by-poll from there.
The disqualification of the AIADMK chief as a candidate in elections had ended following her acquittal by the Karnataka High Court in a disproportionate assets case. She had suffered disqualification upon her conviction in November last year.
An EC direction to all Chief Electoral Officers of states and Union Territories said that for elections to be held from May 1, 2015 onwards, the ballot papers, postal ballot papers and ballot papers to be displayed on EVMs will also carry the photographs of the candidates.

Latest News from States News Desk