Governor ESL Narasimhan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Rao and 11 other Cabinet members at a ceremony held at the Raj Bhavan in Hyderabad this morning.

The Cabinet included Rao's son K T Rama Rao and nephew T Harish Rao. Nine other Cabinet Ministers are Mohammed Mahmood Ali, T Rajaiah, Nayani Narasimha Reddy, Eatela Rajender, Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy, T Padma Rao, P Mahender Reddy, Jogu Ramanna and G Jagadish Reddy.

READ MORE: Centre makes provisional allotment of 44 IAS officers for Telangana

No central leaders were present during the swearing-in ceremony.

Narasimhan, who will be the common Governor of Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh, was administered oath as the first Governor of India’s 29th state by Andhra Pradesh High Court Chief Justice Kalyan Jyoti Sengupta on Monday.

According to reports, Mohammed Mahmood Ali and T Rajaiah will be the Deputy Chief Ministers of Telangana.

KCR reviews colourful parade

After taking charge of the top post, Rao unfurled the national flag and reviewed a colourful parade here to mark the formation of the 29th state. He hoisted the tricolour and took salute at an impressive parade held at Parade Grounds, Secunderabad.

It was a historic moment as KCR unfurled the flag at the main official celebrations, attended by his cabinet colleagues, senior officials, and a large number of policemen and people.

Rao, who played a key role in the state's formation, waved at the crowd as he drove in an open top vehicle at the sprawling ground to review the parade. There were loud cheers from the people, some of whom were holding national flags.

Various battalions of police from different parts of Telangana, City Armed Reserve, mounted police, Special protection Force (SPF) and home guard participated in the parade.

The TRS government is expected to announce lifting the police cases filed against Telangana supporters during the separate statehood agitation and announce benefits for the families of those who reportedly died in support of the separate statehood demand.

The buzz is that senior IAS officer Rajiv Sharma, who is presently working in the Union Home Ministry, and incumbent Hyderabad Police Commissioner Anurag Sharma are likely to take over as the Chief Secretary and DGP of Telangana respectively.

President's Rule revoked

President's Rule imposed in unite Andhra Pradesh was revoked partially on Sunday to facilitate the swearing-in of the new government. However, the central rule will continue in the residual Andhra Pradesh till TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu takes charge as Chief Minister a week later.

Read more: Modi congratulates KCR, says Telangana will add strength to India’s development journey

President's rule was imposed in Andhra Pradesh on March 1 after N Kiran Kumar Reddy resigned as Chief Minister following the Parliament's nod for bifurcation of the state to create separate Telangana.

Hyderabad will be the joint capital of Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh.

Read more: Digvijay lauds Manmohan Singh, Sonia as Telangana comes into existence

The TRS won 63 of the 119 assembly seats in Telangana in the recent elections while Naidu's Telugu Desam Party, along with ally BJP, bagged 106 of the 175 assembly seats in Seemandhra.


READ MORE: Twitter abuzz with best wishes for KCR-led Telangana government


Latest News from State News Desk