Pithoragarh: With the commencement of Kailash Mansarovar Yatra from May 29, hundreds of pilgrims are likely to arrive in Tibet for the worship of Lord Shiva, who is believed to have his abode on Mount Kailash.

Mount Kailash, considered to be world’s one of the most sacred spots, provides divine pleasure to the devotees of Lord Shiva when they arrive at the Mother of all pilgrimages - Kailash Mansarovar. The devotees take three week time to complete this religious journey.

Since the Kailash Mansarovar Yatra is jointly organized by India and China, the pilgrims who embark upon this journey have to undergo several formalities.

Kailash Mansarovar is situated in Tibet which is now under the control of China, therefore the devotees have to pass through the lengthy procedure of visa, passport and health-check-ups. Nevertheless, every year there has been an increase in the number of pilgrims.

It may be noted that only after getting the consent of Chinese government on the number of pilgrims, the applications are accepted. And the selected devotees are sent through 16 batches to the Himalayan region of China.

This year also the Yatra will start on June 1, and the first batch of selected pilgrims will reach Delhi on May 29 where they will complete their formalities in two days.

The holy yatra which started in 1982 has now completed 30 years. In the past 29 years, around 11,500 pilgrims have visited this holy place. After 1962 India-China war, the holy Kailash Mansarovar Yatra was banned for three years, and it resumed after the discussion between the two nations.

This long trip, which is considered to be the world’s longest holy voyage, is organized by the Ministry of External Affairs and coordinated by Kumaon Mandal Vikas Nigam (KMVN).

Passing through difficult terrain, the holy voyage is full of mystery and adventure and it can be covered in a following manner.
• First day: Delhi to Almorah via Kathgodaam.
• Second day: Almorah to Adhar Shivir Dharchula via Pithoragarh.
• Third day: Dharchulaa to Narayanashram by vehicle and then 4 km distance of Sirsa to be covered by walk.
• Fourth day: Sirsa to Galaa, 17 km.
• Fifth day: Galaa to Bundi, 19 km.
• Sixth day: Bundi to Gunji, 11 km.
• Seventh day: Rest in Gunji
• Eighth day: Gunji to Nambidhang via Kalaapani, 16 km.
• Ninth day: From last Indian stoppage to Indo-Tibet border Lipule, 17 km walk will take pilgrims into Tibetan territory and they will reach at Taklagot camp. After that the sacred parikrima of Mansarovar begins.