The child rights crusader, shared the Nobel Peace prize for 2014 with Pakistani teenager Malala Yousafzai for "their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education". He is the first India-born activist to win the Peace Nobel.
Tagore was the first Indian to win the coveted prize for Literature in 1913 "because of his profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful verse, by which, with consummate skill, he has made his poetic thought, expressed in his own English words, a part of the literature of the West".

Raman won the prize for Physics in 1930 "for his work on the scattering of light and for the discovery of the effect named after him."
Mother Teresa, a Roman Catholic nun of Albanian origin and Indian citizenship who founded 'The Missionaries of Charity' was awarded the Peace Nobel in 1979 in recognition of her "work in bringing help to suffering humanity".
The Nobel for Economic Sciences in 1998 was won by Kolkata-born economist Sen "for his contributions to welfare economics."

Other than this, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, of which Rajendra K Pachauri is the chairman, won the Peace Nobel in 2007.
Some other laureates with Indian connections include Ronald Ross, who won the Noble Prize for medicine in 1902. He was born in India but was a British citizen.
Similarly, British citizen Rudyard Kipling who won the award for Literature in 1907 was also born in India.

Har Gobind Khorana, who won the Nobel for Medicine in 1968, was born in India but acquired US citizenship in 1966.
In 1979, Abdus Salam, a Pakistani national won the award for his contributions to Physics. He was also born in India.
Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar, who won the prize in 1983 for his contribution to Physics was also of Indian birth. He had acquired US citizenship in 1953.

In 1989, Tibetan spiritual leader The Dalai Lama was bestowed the Nobel Peace Prize. He has been a resident of India since 1959.
Trinidad-born and of Indian descent, British citizen VS Naipaul won the prize for Literature in 2001.
In 2006, Muhammad Yunus won the Peace Nobel. He was born in undivided India and remained a Pakistani citizen from 1947-1971 before becoming a Bangladeshi citizen.
In 2009, Venkatraman Ramakrishnan was conferred the Nobel Prize in Chemistry "for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome". He was born in India but has dual British and US citizenship.

Latest News from India News Desk