"2,82,130 electorates including 1,26,194 women would exercise their franchise in the assembly by-elections of Kairana constituency in Shamli district," District Election Officer Shamli, NP Singh, told reporters here on Monday.

157 polling stations have been established for the polls, he said.

By-election for the Kairana seat was necessitated after BJP MLA Hukum Singh resigned as he was elected to the Lok Sabha from this constituency.

The district authorities have divided the Kairana assembly into 40 sectors for arrangements in which 1,210 officials would be posted for election duty.

Latest News from State News Desk