The voting for the elections where 13 candidates are in fray began at 8 AM and there were no untoward incident reported so far, Additional District Magistrate, Kanpur Shtragunha Singh said.

Out of the 252 polling centres for the polls, 181 are in Kanpur, 18 in Kanpur Dehat and the remaining in Unnao district. There are around 1.77 lakh graduate voters in Kanpur, around 16,000 voters in Kanpur Dehat and 39,000 voters in Unnao.

The constituency has been the bastion of the Swaroop family for nearly six decades. For the last 34 years, Jagendra Swaroop had been the MLC from the constituency and previously, his father Virendra had retained the seat for nearly 24 years.

The by-poll was necessitated following Jagendra's death.

Jagendra's eldest son Manvendra Swaroop, who has support from Congress, is in the fray. The main contest is between him and Bramhanand College's principal Vivek Dwivedi and Arun Pathak, supported by BJP.

Latest News from State News Desk