Governor N N Vohra nominated the members to the Council, an official spokesman said. With the nomination of the eight more members, the strengthen of the Legislative Council has gone up to to 34.

As per the notification issued by Department of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, the Governor, in exercise of the powers vested in him under Sub-section (6) of Section 50 of the constitution of Jammu and Kashmir, has nominated Zaffar Iqbal Manhas, Ashok Khajuria, Vikramditya Singh, Romesh Arora, Saifu-Din Bhat, Ajatshatru Singh, Mohammad Khurshid Alam and Surinder Mohan Ambardar as new members to the Upper House of Jammu and Kashmir's bicameral legislature.

Members Ajatshatru Singh and Vikramadatya Singh, Singh's sons, have joined ruling coalition partners, BJP and PDP in the state.

Ashok Khajuria, who has been a two-time MLA, did not contest election in 2014 Assembly polls and Arora, a senior BJP leader apart from Ambardar, is a staunch RSS activist and social worker.

The total strength of the Council in 36. However, two vacancies falling under the category of Urban Local bodies, election for which could not be held for last ten years.

In the 34-member house, 11 members belongs to PDP, 8 to BJP and NC each and 7 to the Congress.

Latest News from Jammu and Kashmir News Desk