Udupi (Karnataka): Seven candidates on Saturday withdrew their nomination papers leaving 14 contestants in the field for the March 18 by-election to Uudpi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha seat.

Congress's K Jayaprakash Hegde, V Sunil Kumar (BJP) and Boje Gowda (JDS) were among the 14 candidates who will test their electoral luck at the hands of an estimated 12.24 lakh voters.

On the last day for withdrawal of nominations, seven candidates including from JDU chose to pull out of the contest, electoral authorities said here.

The ruling BJP is making all out effort to retain the seat, vacated by Chief Minister D V Sadananda Gowda, and Congress is aiming to end its string of defeats it suffered in the by-polls so far in Karnataka.