The organisers had decided to include one junior girl and a junior boy in each of the six teams so that they can gain experience and learn work ethics of the top international stars.

Fed Cup player Rishika Sunkara and Vidit Vaghela were named in the Punjab side while Shweta Rana and Prajwal Dev found themselves in the Pune franchisee.

Pranjala Yadlapalli and former national champion Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash are part of the Mumbai team. Nidhi Chilumula and Sasikumar Mukund will travel with the Chennai team.

Souwjanya Bavisetti and Vinod Cheruku Vasisht are part of the Bangalore team.

"Champions Tennis League was founded with a vision to bring tennis in India to the grass root level. It is in this very spirit that we welcome our junior stars to the League.

CTL provides these upcoming champions the opportunity to interact with the stars and legends of our time, as well as the support and encouragement to allow them to become legends in their own right," Vijay Amritraj, who has conceptualised the league along with AITA, said

Anil Khanna, President of the All India Tennis Association (AITA) said, "We at the AITA are immensely proud of our junior stars. An association with Champions Tennis League offers them a wonderful platform to be recognized not only by the Indian public, but across the globe."

In its inaugural edition, CTL will see the six city-based teams play 13 matches over a period of 10 days from November 17 to November 26.

The teams will be divided into two groups, where all teams play each other in a home and away format. The team with the highest number of games won in their respective group will compete in the grand finale for a prize money of Rs 1 crore. The runner-up will get Rs 50 lakh.

Latest News from Sports News Desk