"The Cabinet has sanctioned prosecution against bureaucrats and public representatives involved in alleged illegalities and irregularities in the MML," Law and Parliamentary Minister TB Jayachandra told reporters.

“The government took the decision after the Lokayukta Police who were entrusted with the case, sought sanction to prosecute the guilty bureaucrats and public representatives involved in the matter,” he added.
Jayachandra further said the officers against whom prosecution has been sanctioned were both retired and serving bureaucrats including V Umesh, I R Perumal, K S Manjunath, D S Ashwath, Jija Hari Singh and Mahendra Jain.

The government had earlier announced that the investigation would be handed over either to a Special Investigation Team or the Criminal Investigation Department of the state police.

The government, however, later changed its stand saying the Lokayukta Police has better knowledge of the subject and it has designated courts for speedy trial of cases.


Latest News from State News Desk