Bangalore: Karnataka Chief Minister DV Sadananda Gowda of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday won a bypoll to the legislative council defeating Congress nominee Anand Gaddadevaramath by 54 votes.

Gowda, now a Lok Sabha member, bagged 123 votes to Gaddadevaramath's 69 votes in the bypoll in which 199 of the 225-assembly members, including one nominated, cast their ballots.

Seven votes were invalid, election officials announced. The Janata Dal-Secular's 26 members abstained from voting.

Gowda contested the poll as he had to become a member of the state legislature within six months of assuming office. He became Chief Minister Aug 4, succeeding party colleague BS Yeddyurappa who quit July 31 over corruption charges.

In the assembly, the BJP has 120 members, including the speaker, and the support of one of the seven independents. The Congress has 71 members.

After the victory, Gowda said he will quit the Lok Sabha next week. He represents Udupi-Chikmagalur parliamentary constituency.

The bypoll was held to facilitate Gowda's entry into the legislative council. His party colleague N Shankarappa vacated the seat for him.