"The Congress has won 13 constituencies, BJP six, JD-S four and independents in two of the 25 legislative council seats where the biennial polling was held on December 27", said  Karnataka Chief Electoral Officer AK Jha.

The Congress won in Bangalore Rural and Bangalore Urban, Bidar, Bellary, Bijapur-II, Chitradurga, Dakshina Kannada-II, Dharwad-I, Hassan, Mysore-I, Raichur, Shimoga and Uttara Kannada, said the poll panel, which retained the old names of the places.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won in Belgaum-II, Chikkamagalur, Dakshina Kannada-I, Dharwad-II, Gulbarga and Kodagu, while JD-S won in Kolar, Mandya, Mysore-II and Tumkur.

Two independents won from Belgaum-1 and Bijapur-1, from where former BJP Union Minister Basangouda R. Patil (Yatnal) contested.

In six districts - Bangalore, Belgaum, Bijapur, Dakshina Kannada, Dharwad and Mysore, elections were held in two constituencies each respectively.

A record 99.6 percent voting was registered in the polling on Sunday.

Latest News from State News Desk