The project, which is worth Rs 10,752 crore will be initially implemented in ten cities including Mangalore, Hubli-Dharwad, Bellary, Tumkur, Bangalore, Davanagere, Belgaum, Shimoga, Gulbarga and Mysore, Jayachandra told reporters in Bangalore.
The state government will also contribute a percentage of the cost, the Minister said.
Jayachandra said that the cabinet also gave the nod to extend the scheme to 26 two-tier towns in the state with state funding. "Since a major portion of the fund is given by the Centre, there will not be much burden on state exchequer."
The cabinet has also decided to extend Rashtriya Swastha Insurance scheme to BPL card-holders by paying Rs 11 crore towards premium which will benefit 98 lakh families.


Latest News from State News Desk