Jammu: The Kashmir Committee headed by prominent lawyer Ram Jethmalani is slated to begin its mission Kashmir from Thursday. But, it could face heat as Jammu and Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF) Chairman Mohammad Yasin Malik has decided to boycott the committee.

"We have decided not to meet the Kashmir Committee during their tour of the Valley as we understand that it has time and again played a role detrimental to interests of Kashmiris," he said.

Chairman of All Party Hurriyat Conference Syed Ali Shah Geelani and Hurriyat Conference faction Chairman Mirwaiz Umar Farooq including other separatists have yet to clear their stand in this context.

The Jethmalani-led committee was formed during the ruling of NDA government under the leadership of Prime Ministership of A B Vajpayee in 2002 to open a channel of dialogue mainly with senior separatist leaders.

A year after its formation, the Committee met several separatist leaders but failed to reach any consensus. The Committee lost its existence in 2004.

In the last April, Ram Jethmalani announced to refurbish the Kashmir Committee.  “This time the Committee does not have any link with the state or Central government. The Committee will reach unanimous solution,” said Jethmalani.

He said, “The Committee will prepare a roadmap to find solution to the Kashmir dispute and bring all parties to the negotiating table.”

Various separatist organisation, social institutions and intellectuals are supporting the Kashmir Committee, he added.