Congress leader Mateen Ahmed, who was named the pro-tem Speaker, administered the oath to Kejriwal.

Besides Kejriwal, other Cabinet ministers Manish Sisodia, Rakhi Birla, Somnath Bharti, Saurabh Bhardwaj, Girish Soni and Satendra Jain took oath.

The first session of Delhi Assembly will end on January 7 during which Arvind Kejriwal-led government will seek a vote of confidence on the floor of the House.

The government will seek the trust vote on Friday.

The election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker will be held on Friday.

Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung will address the House on January 6. On January 7, a discussion will take place on the Lieutenant Governor’s address.

In the 70-member assembly, AAP has 28 MLAs, eight short of a majority. AAP has the outside support of eight MLAs of Congress. The BJP has 31 members and its ally Akali Dal has one member.


Latest News from State News Desk