Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will face a crucial vote of confidence on Thursday in the Delhi Assembly.

Meanwhile, Senior BJP leader and MLA Jagdish Mukhi has filed his nomination for the post of Speaker of Delhi Assembly against AAP's MS Dhir.

On Wednesday, Delhi Assembly completed the formality of oath taking by the members including the Chief Minister and other ministers with senior Congress member Matin Ahmed functioning as pro-tem Speaker.
The Congress has made it clear that it will continue its support to the government and there was no question of reviewing the decision. "We had decided to support the AAP government from outside and we are not reviewing it. We stand by our decision. There is no threat to the government from our side," Delhi Pradesh Congress chief Arvinder Singh Lovely said.

AAP has 28 MLAs and needs at least eight MLAs to achieve the required majority of 36 in a House of 70. While the Congress has eight MLAs, the BJP and its ally SAD have a total of 32 MLAs. Lone Janata Dal (United) MLA Shoaib Iqbal and Independent MLA Rambir Shokeen are expected to vote in favour of Delhi’s first minority government.


Latest News from India News Desk