Three of the six Mayors are women. The corporations of Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Thrissur,
Kozhikode and Kannur have gone to Left Democratic Front (LDF). In the state capital, CPI(M)'s V K Prashanth was elected as Mayor after getting 42 votes in the 100-member corporation.

Early this month, the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) had suffered a setback in the local body polls, seen as a dress rehearsal for assembly polls due next year. While the LDF has improved its tally in the civic body polls, the saffron party which had failed to taste success so far in the assembly and Parliament polls has made inroads in different areas, especially in Thiruvananthapuram, Palakkad and Ernakulam, posing a stiff threat to both the fronts.

In a major blow to UDF and LDF, in the prestigious 100 member Thiruvananthauram City corporation, BJP has managed to wrest 34 seats, pushing the UDF that secured 21 seats to third position, while LDF, which held the Corporation for the last two decades, won 42 wards, short of a simple majority.

Latest News from State News Desk