60-year-old Khattar, a non-Jat and the first Punjabi Chief Minister of the state, was elected leader of BJP Legislature Party, two days after the party stormed to power on its own.
The election came at a meeting of 47 newly-elected MLAs at the Chandigarh UT Guest House, party Vice President Dinesh Sharma, who attended the meeting along with Parliamentary Affairs Minister Venkaiah Naidu as central observers, told reporters.
Khattar, a first-time MLA, has worked as an RSS Pracharak for 40 long years. Born in Rohtak district, he had contested the Assembly elections from Karnal. He won the Karnal seat with a margin of 63,736 votes. He is stated to be close to the Prime Minister and BJP chief Amit Shah
Sharma said that the date of swearing in ceremony of the party's first government will be announced soon.

Another aspirant for the post of Chief Minister Haryana BJP President Ram Bilas Sharma told reporters that he had proposed Khattar's name, which was seconded by several MLAs including another aspirant Abhimanyu and Prem Lata (wife of Birender Singh who joined the BJP from Congress recently).
Sharma said that they would meet Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki to stake claim for government formation.
With Khattar's election, Haryana will get a non-Jat Chief Minister after 18 years.
Bhajan Lal was the last non-Jat Chief Minister who held office from 1991 to 1996. After his exit Bansi Lal, Om Parkash Chautala (twice) and Bhupinder Singh Hooda (twice) were the Chief Ministers.
The saffron party won 47 seats while the rest were shared by INLD 19, INC 15, HJC-BL two, one each of BSP and SAD and five Independents.

Immediately after his election, Khattar along with Naidu, Sharma and other leader went to the Haryana Raj Bhawan and staked claim to form the government.
Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki accepted the claim and invited the BJP to form the government.
The swearing-in ceremony will be held on October 26 at Tau Devi Lal Sports Complex at Panchkula in Haryana, about 25 Kms from the state capital.
BSP, which is not part of the BJP-led NDA at the Centre, however, gave a letter of support to the BJP to the Governor.
BSP's Tek Chand Sharma was the lone party legislator to be elected from Prithla Assembly constituency defeating his nearest rival BJP's Nayan Pal Rawat by 1179 votes.
Three Independent MLAs Ravinder Machrouli (Samalkha), Rais Khan (Punhana) and Dinesh Kaushik (Pundri) also handed over to the Governor their letters extending support to the BJP.

'All-round development, corruption free governance'

Khattar promised to give good and corruption free governance and all-round development of the state. He also thanked voters for giving mandate to BJP for forming the government in the state.
"I want to assure the public that we will carry out development in the state (Haryana) as per Prime Minister Narendra Modi's vision. There will be no partiality on development front, which the state has experienced.
"There will be all-round development of Haryana... be it south or north Haryana," Khattar said, after being elected as Leader of BJP Legislature Party which paved way for his becoming the first Chief Minister of saffron party in Haryana.
"We will ensure good and corruption free governance in the state," he said, while expressing gratitude to Haryana voters for giving mandate to BJP for forming the government in the state.
He further said he would stress on uplift of those areas of the state which have been left backward.
Khattar said the BJP had a team of experienced leaders who are capable of taking the state to newer heights as far as development was concerned.



Latest News from India News Desk