Mohali: David Miller and Mandeep Singh's blazing unbeaten half centuries set the platform for Kings XI Punjab to claim a seven-wicket win over Pune Warriors in a edge-of-the-seat thriller Pepsi Indian Premier League match on Sunday.


Miller played a scintillating 41-ball 80 knock laced with five fours and an equal number of sixes while Mandeep hit 58-ball 77, decorated with seven fours, to help their team secure victory with just one ball to spare.
Needing 29 off last two overs, Miller hit two consecutive fours off Dinda in the 19th over to ease down the pressure. Kings XI managed to get 13 runs off the over.
With 16 required off the last over, Miller hit two huge sixes off Wright to hand the hosts their third win from six matches.
Pune rode on skipper Aaron Finch's strokeful half-century and significant contributions from Yuvraj Singh and Luke Wright to post an imposing 185 for four.
Finch scored an attractive 42-ball 65 with the help of eight fours and two sixes while Yuvraj hit an impressive 24-ball 34, laced with two fours and three sixes. Wright helped the visitors finish with flourish, courtesy his breezy 34 off 10, during which he found the fence six times.
Chasing the target, Kings XI got off to a disastrous start as they were two down with just five runs on board. While Bhuvneshwar Kumar dismissed Gilchrist in the first over, Ajantha Mendis struck in the second over to send back Azhar Mahmood putting Punjab on back foot.
Miller walked out in the middle and destroyed the confidence of the Pune bowlers with a flurry of fours and sixes to put his side back in contention.

Miller with Mandeep added an unconquered 128 runs in just 79 deliveries for the fourth wicket partnership to script an impressive victory for the Punjab team.

Kings XI Punjab:
Adam Gilchrist (c), Mandeep Singh, Manan Vohra, David Hussey, Azhar Mahmood, Gurkeerat Singh, David Miller, Piyush Chawla, Manpreet Gony, Praveen Kumar and Parvinder Awana.
Pune Warriors:
Aaron Finch (c), Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh, Steven Smith, Luke Wright, Abhishek Nayar, Mithun Manhas, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Ashoke Dinda and Ajantha Mendis.


Latest News from Sports News Desk