Kings XI will now face Kolkata Knight Riders in Sunday's IPL final in Bangalore. Chasing a mammoth target of 227, Super Kings only managed 202 for seven in 20 overs after Suresh Raina top scored with a 25-ball 87 and Mahendra Singh Dhoni remained unbeaten on 42 off 31 balls.

Virender Sehwag was the star of the show for Kings XI Punjab with a magnificent 122 runs in just 58 balls.

Kings XI got off to a blazing start after being asked to bat first on a good batting track. Both Vohra and Sehwag played shot after shot as the 50 was raised in just 26 balls before the scored jumped to 70 in six overs of power play.
In the next over by Ashwin, the discarded India opener swung the off spinner for a huge six over long on before completing his second half century of the season in 21 balls.

Sehwag greeted left arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja too with a slogged six over long on. The 100 of the innings came up in the first all of the 10th over by the end of which the score looked a very healthy 109 without loss.
Vohra miscued a pull shot and the skier was held well by Suresh Raina at short mid wicket to give Pandey and the harried Super Kings their first breakthrough in the 11th over.
When Nehra came off for his third over, Sehwag smashed his Delhi Ranji Trophy teammate for successive sixes over the straight field and 20 runs came off it.
Sehwag and Maxwell carted Ashwin over the straight field for a six each before the bowler had some consolation by having the latter caught in the deep.
Later Sehwag added 68 runs in 32 balls for the third wicket with Miller before hitting a full toss from Nehra to be caught at covers.

Teams (from):
Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Dwayne Smith, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Brendon McCullum, David Hussey, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey and Ashish Nehra.
Kings XI Punjab: George Bailey (C), Virender Sehwag, Manan Vohra, Wriddhiman Saha, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, Akshar Patel, Mitchell Johnson, Karanveer Singh, Sandeep Sharma and Parvinder Awana.


Latest News from Sports News Desk