Kiran Reddy, who last week resigned as Chief Minister and from the Congress to protest the bifurcation of the state, discussed his reported plans to float a new political party in the Seemandhra region.

L Rajagopal, Sabbam Hari, V Arun Kumar, Sai Pratap, Harsha Kumar and R Sambasiva Rao, who were expelled from the Congress for moving a no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha against the UPA government, attended the meeting.

State ministers S Sailajanath, P Satyanarayana and Parthasarthi were also present at the meeting.

Kiran Reddy resigned as Chief Minister and quit the Congress after the Lok Sabha passed the bill for formation of a Telangana state.

He alleged that the Congress had done grave injustice to Telugu-speaking people.

Governor ESL Narasimhan has accepted Kiran Reddy's resignation and asked him to continue as caretaker Chief Minister.

The Congress has not yet taken a decision whether to name a new Chief Minister or impose President's rule.

The Central government is likely to issue in a couple of days a gazette notification for formation of Telangana and the successor state of Andhra Pradesh.


Latest News from India News Desk