Indian Railway is one of the world's largest railway networks comprising 1,15,000 km of track over a route of 65,808 km and 7,112 stations. Indian Railway operates both long distance and suburban rail systems on a multi-gauge network of broad, metre and narrow.

Here, we enlist the various track upon which trains run:

Broad Gauge:The Governor-General of India in the 1850's chose broad gauge for India rather than the standard gauge. The  reasons given were greater stability during high wind and unpredictable weather and more space between the wheels for bigger inside cylinders (although this created a problem when outside cylinders were introduced). The inability to source standard equipment and extra cost of longer sleepers were not seen to be a problem.

Standard Gauge: The only standard gauge line in India was the Kolkata (Calcutta) tram system till 2010. Delhi Metro Rail Corporation started metro train on standard gauge track on Mundka-Inderlok-Kirti Nagar sections and on Central Secretariat-Badarpur sections. The Green Line, Violet Line, and the Delhi Airport Metro Express operate on standard gauge.

Furthermore, the Rapid Metro Rail Gurgaon, the Bangalore Metro and the Mumbai Metro also operate on standard gauge. Most new metro systems to be built in India will use standard gauge as it is easier to acquire rolling stock for standard gauge than for Indian gauge.

Metre Gauge: In the 1880s, when the broad gauge tracks had been laid over some routes, another Governor-General considered the introduction of infill 1,000 mm (3 ft3 3⁄8 in) metre gauge meter gauge lines to reduce the cost.

Narrow Gauge: Narrow gauge are in hilly terrains and in some private railways. Narrow gauge had been covering a total of 2,400 km route length in 2011. Narrow gauge railway tracks were constructed because simpler engineering permits sharp turn in hilly regions.

Latest News from India News Desk