"Congratulations Raj Kumar Sir. All the hard work behind the bigger picture never gets noticed," Kohli, who is in the West Indies, tweeted.

"I am delighted for you on getting the Dronacharya Award," the skipper added.

Sharma will receive the award from President Pranab Mukherjee at a function here on August 29th. The other coaches who will be conferred the honour are Nagapuri Ramesh (athletics), Sagar Dayal (boxing), Bishweshwar Nandi (gymnastics), S Pradeep Kumar (swimming) and Mahabir Singh (wrestling).

Dronacharya is conferred on coaches who produce medal winners at prestigious international sports events. The awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each.

Latest News from Sports News Desk