They were declared elected by Haryana Assembly Speaker and Returning Officer Sumit Kumar after the end of withdrawl of nominations.

Two vacancies of Rajya Sabha from Haryana were caused due to scheduled retirement of Congress candidates Ram Prakash and Ishwar Singh early next month.

While Selja is a four-time MP, twice each from Sirsa and Ambala constituencies, Kashyap is the head of Backward cell of INLD.

She has been a detractor of Chief Minister Bhupender Singh Hooda for alleged discrimination in development of Ambala.

Selja, a known Dalit face in Haryana, was a surprise candidate nominated by the Congress as she herself had been working hard for getting ticket to incumbent Ishwar Singh again.

In the 90-member Assembly, Congress has 46 MLAs, INLD 30, BJP 4, BSP, SAD and Haryana Janhit Congress one each, rest seven are independents and support Congress.


Latest News from Haryana News Desk