KKR, this year's IPL champions, scored a remarkable victory over Chennai thanks to a scintillating knock of 58 runs by Andre Russel and Ryan ten Doeschate's unbeaten 51.

Russel, who is in brilliant form following a successful stint in the Carribean Premier League, and ten Doeschate came good when the top order comprising Captain Gautam Gambhir, Yusuf Pathan Manvinder Bisla and Manish Pandey fumbled.

Kolkata's top batsmen can be match-winners individually and their combined might can make things really difficult for the rivals. Besides a strong batting line-up, the Kolkata side boasts of a competitive bowling department that includes the deadly Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Umesh Yadav, Piyush Chawla and Yusuf Pathan.

Lahore Lions entered the main draw of the tournament following two wins in three matches they played in the Qualifying Group. The Lions thrashed Mumbai Indians by six wickets with eight balls remaining in the match on 13th September.

The Lahore side won by a comprehensive 55 runs against Southern Express on 16th September, though the team lost to Northern Districts team on 14th September.

Lahore's Saad Nasim, Captain Mohammed Hafeez, Ahmed Shezad and Umar Akmal have been impressive with the bat. Hafeez struck a superb 67-run knock in the match against Southern Express, while Umar Akmal also impressed in their maiden match against Mumbai Indians.

Lahore bowlers Aizaz Cheema, Wahab Riaz and Imran Ali have been successful in the qualifying matches. But the team will need to put up a very strong all-round performance to make it difficult for the seasoned Kolkata Knight Riders.

Latest News from Sports News Desk