Since no nomination other than Lalu Yadav's was filed, he has been unanimously chosen to the post, RJD National Election Officer Jagadanand Singh said. Yadav had filed nomination yesterday, Singh said.

Yadav, whose present tenure would be for three years - 2016-19 - will assume the charge formally on January 17. Lalu Yadav has been RJD chief since its inception in 1997.

Yadav and his supporters had split from Janata Dal to form Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) on July 5, 1997, following differences over post of president.

A total of 17 Lok Sabha MPs of Janata Dal including Ragubansh Prasad Singh and 8 Rajya Sabha members had left Janata Dal with Lalu Yadav to float RJD at that time.

Latest News from State News Desk