New Delhi: Gone are the days, when doctors were keen to work at the prestigious All India Institutes of Medical Sciences (AIIMS). The scenario has undergone a tremendous change in the past five years as a number of leading doctors and staff members have resigned from the AIIMS.

The most recent example is of Dr Sandeep Guleria of Surgery Department who also quit AIIMS. His departure from the institute is likely to make a major impact on the functioning of the kidney transplant team.

According to sources, Dr Guleria was dissatisfied with the restraints imposed on the doctors at AIIMS.

Interestingly, Dr Guleria is not the lone dissatisfied staff member to quit the premiere medical institute. During the last five years, Prof RK Sharma of Forensic Department, Prof Ashok Kumar of Rheumatology Department, Rohini Handa of Medicine Department, Prof SC Tiwari, Head of the Department (HOD) Nephrology have bid adieu to the AIIMS.

In addition to Dr NP Gupta HOD Urology Department, Prof NK Arora of Pediatrics, Prof Rakesh Agrawal of Gastroenterology, Prof Manju Aron and Prof Vijayraghwan of Pathology, Prof Ramesh Vijyan of Physiology Department, Prof Surya Bhan of Orthopedics, Prof Vipul of Neuro radiology Department, Prof Manish Aron of Urology have parted ways with the medical institute. 

According to sources at AIIMS, the doctors and staff members did not quit because of the salary package, but there were other reasons which prompted them to resign.

President of Faculties Association of AIIMS, Dr Manoj Singh said, “Dr Guleria’s resignation is certainly a major setback to the medical institute.”