Lucknow: The architect of Samajwadi Party's outstanding win, Akhilesh Yadav as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh has a tough task on hand in tackling lawlessness and fulfilling promises made in his party manifesto.

His skill would be under test in dealing with the issue given the background of the militant image of SP workers, especially at a time when violent incidents, which have broken out after the party came to power, were attributed to them.

Becoming the youngest Chief Minister of one of the country's most politically important state, he has an uphill task of dispelling Samajwadi Party's image of being lax in tackling lawlessness.

 He has started with an assurance that the government would not tolerate lawlessness and will tackle it with an iron hand.

Another uphill task for him would be in his dealings with the party seniors who may be upset at the sudden transition taking place in it.

Despite being aware of the power he wields in SP, Akhilesh always presented himself as a modest young man.

His challenges also include ways to fulfil his poll manifesto of providing tablets and laptops to high school and intermediate pass outs, doling out un-employment allowance which would cause excessive burden on the state exchequer.

Dispelling the common perception that the Samajwadi Party led by his father Mulayam Singh Yadav had an old school mindset, Akhilesh as the party's chief campaigner emerged as its modern face in the assembly elections.

Forging ahead against personal attacks from rivals, the civil environment engineer talked about development shedding SP's image of being anti-computers and anti-English.

The architect of Samajwadi Party's outstanding win was also firm in denying election tickets to candidates with criminal antecedents.

With his father said to be not in the best of health, Akhilesh, took on the responsibility of his party's electoral fight for ousting the Mayawati-led BSP from power.

Union minister Pawan Kumar Bansal, Congress leader Motilal Vohra, Jaya Bachchan, Punjab Chief Minister Prakash Singh Badal, INLD leader Om Prakash Chautala, CPI-M General Seretary Prakash Karat and industrialists Anil Ambani and Subrata Roy Sahara, among others, attended the swearing in function.

As representatives of BSP supremo and former CM Mayawati, ex-cabinet ministers Naseemuddin Siddiqui and Swami Prasad Maurya were also present.