The qualifying singles rounds will be played today and tomorrow at the SDAT Stadium. Four places are up for grabs in the singles main draw, and the result of these two days will determine which four players make it to the 28-player field of the 20th edition of India's most premier and South Asia's only ATP World Tour event.
The qualifying singles round is a draw of 16 with 14 direct acceptances and two wildcards. Leading the charge amongst the Indian boys will be Saketh, Somdev and Sanam. Sanam was granted a wildcard into the qualifying singles draw earlier this week, but has now gained direct entry into the qualifying main draw.
In his place, Prajnesh Gunneswaran has been given a wildcard into the qualifying singles draw along with N Vijay Sundar Prashanth.
The USD 480,000 prize money tournament will witness an impressive field in the form of world number 4 Stan Wawrinka who will vye for a hat-trick of titles, world number 12 Kevin Anderson, world number 19 and ATP's Comeback Player of the Year 2015 Benoit Paire, world number 25 Roberto Bautista-Agut, along with Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, Gilles Muller, Vasek Pospisil, Borna Coric, and Aljaz Bedene representing nine players from amongst the top 50 in the world.

Latest News from Sports News Desk