Kohima: Independent MLA from Tseminyu Assembly Constituency, Levi Rengma was on Tuesday elected as the Deputy Speaker of the 12th Nagaland Legislative Assembly.
Speaker Chotisuh Sazo announcing that the Assembly Secretariat had received only one nomination for the said post declared Rengma elected unopposed in the 60-member House.
Rengma's name was proposed by MLA Tongwang Konyak and seconded by MLA Amenba Yanthan.
Felicitating the newly elected Deputy Speaker, Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio and Congress Legislature Party Leader Tokheho Yepthomi expressed hope that Rengma would continue to uphold the decorum of the House and maintain neutrality in conducting the proceedings of the House.
They also communicated support on behalf of their respective members in the treasury and opposition benches.
Rio said the unanimous election of the Deputy Speaker shows the confidence of the members put upon him.
He also reminded the House that resolution of Naga political issue tops the agenda of NPF-led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) government and that his government would continue to play the part of an active facilitator towards the achievement of the common aspiration of the Naga people.
CLP leader Yepthomi clarified that the Opposition bench did not field candidate for the post so as to maintain the healthy convention of NLA while also assuring full cooperation towards cordial conduct of assembly proceedings.


Latest News from States News Desk