In a surprise move, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath moved a motion to suspend 11 members who have been protesting against the carving out of Telangana from Andhra Pradesh.

These include seven of the Congress -- Rajagopal Reddy, V Arun Kumar, Srinivas Reddy, Ananth Kumar Reddy, Harsha Kumar and RS Rao (who was not present in the House) -- and four of TDP -- M Venugopal Reddy, N Sivaprasad, K Narayan Rao and Kristappa Nimmala.

"It is very unfortunate that from the very first day the House has not been able to run. I propose that the MPs be suspended till the end of this session," said Kamal Nath while reading out their names.

"I oppose it. We favour the creation of Telangana but it is sad the way the Congress announced its decision," retorted Suashma Swaraj of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

"You have to decide whether you are for or against Telangana," Kamal Nath countered her.

As the Speaker put the motion to voice vote, the entire opposition, including the BJP, Akali Dal, Shiv Sena, JD-U, Left parties, BJD and even the Samajwadi Party, opposed it loudly in a rare show of unity. Amid chaos, the Chair adjourned the House till 12.45 pm.

When the House reconvened, the scenes were repeated and led to a further adjournment for the day. The motion is pending before the House, said Parliamentary sources.

The House could not function even after an all-party meet agreed to run it as the four MPs continued disrupting the House over Telangana.


Latest News from India News Desk