"I am sure all of you will join me in extending our heartiest felicitations to the Indian contingent for their remarkable performance at the ongoing 20th Commonwealth Games being played at Glasgow, Scotland," Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan said.

The Indian contingent has so far won 35 medals, 10 gold, 15 silver and 10 bronze.

Lok Sabha congratulated Sanjita Khumukchan, Sukhen Dey and Sathish Sivalingam for winning gold in weightlifting, Abhinav Bindra, Apurvi Chandela, Jitu Rai and Rahi Sarnobat for winning gold in shooting and Amit Kumar, Vinesh Phogat and Sushil Kumar for winning gold medals in wrestling.

"The House also congratulates other athletes who have won silver and bronze medals at these games," she said.

The Speaker wished the Indian contingent to keep up their commendable performance for the remaining events in the games and bring further laurels to the country.

Latest News from India News Desk