The AIDMK candidates are leading in Nagapattinam, Thanjavur, Tuticorin, Ramanathapuram, Chennai South, Chennai North, Chennai Central, Pollachi, Salem, Villupuram and Kancheepuram.

According to preliminary trends, DMK’s candidates and former union ministers Dayanidhi Maran (Chennai Central) and T R Baalu (Thanjavur) were trailing.

According to recent poll surveys, the AIADMK is expected to get 25 -28 seats, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) 7-11 seats whereas the BJP is being relegated to number three position with 4-6 seats.

In the 2009 Lok Sabha polls, Tamil Nadu had recorded a same polling percentage, with DMK bagging 18 seats in coalition with the Congress, which had bagged 8 seats.

Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK could not do well and managed only nine seats. It had then entered into an alliance with the CPI and CPI (M).


Latest News from State News Desk