Presently in power in Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi Party is believed to be one of the largest political outfits, when it comes to continuance of political legacy and tradition within the family. Today, most of the family members of Samajwadi Party are members in Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, legislative assemblies and legislative councils. A number of Samajwadi Party candidates are in fray for the upcoming 16th Lok Sabha polls. Let’s have a look at the political family tree of Samajwadi Party.

Mulayam Singh Yadav

The president of the ruling party in Uttar Pradesh, Mulayam was born in 1939 and started his political career under the tutelage of prominent socialists like Madhu Limaye, Chaudhary Charan Singh, Rajnarayan and Janeshwar Mishra.

He held the portfolio of Defence Minister from 1996-98 in the United Front government. The annual cultural extravaganza at his ancestral town of Saifai, popularly known as Saifai Mahotsav in Itawa district attracts lots of attention.

He recently courted controversy for organizing the fest at a time, when those who were displaced during the last year’s communal riots in Muzaffarnagar were struggling to get even basic amenities in the relief camps.

Mulayam is an MP from Mainpuri and is contesting the upcoming Lok Sabha elections from Mainpuri and Azamgarh.

Shivpal Yadav

Born in 1955, Shivpal is Mulayam’s younger brother and an MLA from Jaswantnagar constituency in Itawa. He is one of the most powerful ministers in Mulayam Singh-led Cabinet.

Akhilesh Yadav

Born in 1973, Akhilesh Yadav is the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and son of Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav. The SP, under his leadership, came to power in the state in 2012 Assembly elections by winning 224 seats.

Akhilesh is the youngest politician to become Chief Minister at the age of 38. He has been a MP from Kannauj and the president of SP’s state unit and a member of Legislative Council.

Dimple Yadav

Dimple Yadav is the better-half of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav. Born in 1979, Dimple contested the Lok Sabha by-polls in 2009 from Firozabad, which she lost against Congress leader and Bollywood actor Raj Babbar.

She was elected without any contest from Kannauj in 2012 and is fighting the upcoming Lok Sabha polls from this place.

Pratik Yadav

Born in 1988, Pratik is the younger son of Mulayam Singh Yadav from his second wife Sadhna. Several party workers demanded last year to field him from Azamgarh. It’s being said that Mulayam is preparing a set political ground for Pratik by contesting the upcoming general elections from Azamgarh.

Ramgopal Yadav

Ramgopal Yadav, born in 1946, is Mulayam Singh Yadav’s cousin. He is the general secretary of Samajwadi Party and enjoys a strong command in the party circles.

Akshay Yadav

Son of Ramgopal Yadav, he is the SP candidate from Firozabad constituency.

Ankur Yadav

He is the son of Shivpal Yadav and chairman in state co-operative bank. He contested the Panchayat polls in Itawa district in a losing effort.

Dharmendra Yadav

He is the nephew of Mulayam Singh Yadav and the son of SP chief’s younger brother Abhay Ram. He is an MP from Badaun and will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha polls from this very seat.


Latest News from India News Desk