It was 12 percent more than recorded in the 2009 elections.

Sixty percent polling was recorded at Madhepura constituency where JD (U) president Sharad Yadav is contesting.
Madhubani witnessed 56 percent, Jhanjharpur 56 percent, Darbhanga 57 percent, Samastipur 55 percent, Begusarai 64 percent and Khagaria 55 percent at the end of polling at 6 pm, Chief Election Officer Ajay Nayak told reporters.
A bypoll is also being held in Sahebpur Kamal Assembly seat following resignation of former minister Parveen Amanullah from the Nitish Kumar Cabinet.
Sixty-one percent voting was recorded in the bypoll there.
Sharad Yadav, crickter-turned BJP leader Kiriti Azad, former Union ministers M A A Fatmi and Hukumdeo Narayan Yadav are among 94 candidates whose fates have been sealed on Wednesday.
With completion of polling today, 27 seats of a total of 40 in Bihar have witnessed voting. The remaining 13 will go to poll on May 7 and May 12.


Latest News from Bihar News Desk