Polling was brisk at many polling stations in Thoubal district, the home district of chief minister O Ibobi Singh, reports from the district said adding that at a polling station in Thoubal 82 percent of the votes were cast by 1.30 pm.

Reports from other valley districts of Bishenpur, Imphal East and West said 62 percent polling was cast by 2 pm.

At Leimaram village, in Bishenpur district people refused to cast votes saying that their village was not developed and not paid attention by the government in early hours but they were persuaded by the authorities to cast votes, reports said adding they later exercised their franchise.

Manipur has two parliamentary constituencies, Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur.

The first phase poll in Outer Manipur comprising hill districts was held on April 9.


Latest News from State News Desk