Tripura: One seat

Constituencies: Tripura East (ST)

Voters: 11, 40,269

Total candidates: 12

Female candidates: 02

Polling Booths: 140

Contest: Out of the total 15 Lok Sabha elections held in Tripura, Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) has won the Tripura East (ST) 11 times and the party is in power there since 1996. Industries and Commerce Minister in Manik Sarkar-led Cabinet Jitendra Chaudhary is facing multi-cornered opposition from Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Trinamool Congress (TMC).

Sikkim: One seat

Voters: 3,70,731

Total Candidates: 6

Polling Booths: 538

Contest: Tek Nath Dhakal, leader of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, a newly floated political party in Sikkim is contesting against the sitting MP Prem Das Rai. Prem is a member of the ruling Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) government in the state. Besides these two parties, Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Aam Aadmi Party and Trinamool Congress are also in the fray.

Assam: Threee seats

Constituencies: Silchar, Karimganj (SC), Autonomous District (ST)

Voters: 29,33,075

Polling Booths: 3,698

Total candidates: 37

Female candidates: 02

Highest number of candidates: Silchar (17)

Lowest Number of candidates: Autonomous District (06)

Highest number of voters: Karimganj (11.63 lakh)

Lowest number of voters: Autonomous District (7 lakh)

Contest: The state is witnessing a triangular contest between Congress, BJP and All India United Democratic front (AIUDF) in Karimganj and Silchar constituency.

Lalit Mohan Suklabaidya, the two-time Congress MP, from Karimganj Lok Sabha constituency facing a stiff competition from other candidates.

Sushmita Devi of Congress is contesting against current BJP MP and former cabinet minister Kabindra Purkayastha in Silchar.

Sushmita Devi is MLA from the same seat and daughter of former central minister Santosh Mohan Dev.

BJP candidate Jairam Angelique is contesting opposite four times Congress MP Biren Singh Engti in the autonomous district.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Goa: Two seats

Constituencies: Goa North, Goa South

Voters: 10.60 lakh

Polling Booths: 1622

Candidates: 19

Female candidates: 02

Highest number of candidates: Goa South

Lowest number of candidates: Goa North

Highest number of Voters: Goa South

Lowest number of voters: Goa North

Contest: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is in power in Goa, is led by Manohar Parrikar. BJP MP Shripath Nayak, Ravi Nayak (Congress) and Datta Ram Desai of AAP are the main candidatesfrom North Goa.

Sitting Congress MP of Goa North Fransisco Serdinha is not contesting the elections this time as the party did not give him tickets.

Other main contesters from Goa North are Alexo Reginaldo Lourenco (Congress), Narendra Sawaikar (BJP) and Swati Kerkar (AAP).


Latest News from India News Desk