"We are planning to change the candidates in 2-3 constituencies, including Farrukhabad and Etah," said AAP spokesperson Deep Bajpai.

"This is being done because of different reasons ranging from lack of interest shown in campaigning by the individual to some of them not meeting the guidelines set by the party. We will put up strong candidates by replacing them," he added.

The Aam Aadmi Party had announced candidature of scribe Mukul Tripathi in Farrukhabad to take on External Affairs Minister Salman Khurshid in its first list of candidates. He will now be replaced.

The party had given ticket to Dilip Yadav from Etah and he will also be replaced.

Sources said Ravindar Singh, the party's candidate from Agra, has also surrendered his ticket.

In Uttar Pradesh alone, Khalid Parvez was asked not to contest from Moradabad after a case of defaulting cropped up.

Similarly, the party also replaced the candidate in Shahjahanpur. In Delhi, AAP fielded Rakhi Birla in place of Mahendar Singh from north-west Delhi after a case of his arrest in a case came to light.

The party fielded Gul Panag after Savita Bhatti, who was initially given ticket refused to contest in Chandigarh owing to opposition to her candidature by local party workers.


Latest News from State News Desk