“After analyzing the situation and gathering information from local as well as state level leaders, we are confident of winning more than 20 seats. There is no doubt about it", former chief minister and Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Jagadish Shettar told reporters.
"The pro-BJP and pro-Modi wave in the state as at the national level, people's will to make Modi the next Prime Minister and comparatively good voter turnout make us feel confident about our performance," he added.
In the 2009 polls, BJP had got 19 seats, Congress six and JDS 3. But in the 2013 Assembly polls, BJP had lost power, yielding the space to Congress. BJP is now seeing good tidings in it favour.
Requesting the Election Commission to withdraw Code of Conduct, he said continuing it up to the date of counting, May 16, would hamper developmental works. He said he would write to the Commission in this regard.
Another former Chief Minister and BJP leader D V Sadananda Gowda said, "This election is indication of new change at national politics, (and) also indication of changes that will happen in state politics."
On the poll outcome in Bangalore South, where IT czar Nandan Nilekani is pitted against BJP's Ananth Kumar, former Deputy Chief Minister R Ashoka said, "Hundred per cent Ananth Kumar will win. What has Nilekani done to Bangalore compared to Ananth Kumar. He has not planted a single tree nor laid a single road for the city."


Latest News from State News Desk