There are reports that Congress MLA from Pindra Ajay Rai, who belongs to the Bhumihar community, may be given ticket from here to take on Modi and Kejriwal.

Rajesh Mishra, former party MP from Varanasi, is the second name doing the rounds.

Varanasi, where polling is scheduled for May 12, has become the focus of elections after the BJP fielded Modi from here.

Congress leaders Rashid Alvi and Digvijay Singh had earlier expressed their willingness to contest against Modi and Kejriwal from the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat. Union Commerce and Industry Minister Anand Sharma had also expressed the desire to contest against Modi.

Modi, who is also contesting from Vadodara, will file his nomination papers on April 9 for this seat. Voting in Vadodara will take place on April 30.


Latest News from India News Desk