According to media reports, the Election Commission took this decision in view of impressive turnout in the recent Assembly elections to five states and the registration of 10 crore new voters.

People will now be able to cast their votes between 7 am and 6 pm while in Naxal-hit areas polling would be held between 7 am and 4 pm. The polling was earlier held between 8 am and 5 pm while in North-East it began at 7 am.

This recent step by the Election Commission will enable greater participation of voters in the electoral process.

A total of 81.4 crore voters are expected to exercise their franchise in the nine-phase Lok Sabha elections that begins on April 7 and ends on May 12. The counting of votes will take place on May 16.


Latest News from India News Desk