Superstar Dev, screen diva Moonmoon Sen, former India football team captain Baichung Bhutia, musician Bappi Lahiri and magician P C Sorkar Jr, are contesting this year in the LS poll.

Film star Dev is the Trinamool Congress candidate from Ghatal and his first speech as a politician last week had left the crowd spell bound.

It is the same with magician P C Sorkar, who has held shows all over the world, fighting from Barasat as a BJP nominee.

Performing roadshows in different localities in his constituency, Sorkar even performed some quick magic responding to his innumerable fans.

The ruling Trinamool Congress in West Bengal has fielded cinestars Dev (Ghatal), Moonmoon Sen (Bankura) and Sandhya Roy (Midnapore) for the first time.

Satabdi Roy and Tapas Pal are sitting MPs of the party who have been re-nominated from their respective constituencies of Birbhum and Krishnagar.

While Baichung Bhutia has been fielded by Trinamool Congress from the high-strung Darjeeling seat, another soccer star of yesteryears Prasun Banerjee has been fielded by the party from Howrah, where he won in a by-election in 2013.


Latest News from State News Desk