Senior BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi had earlier shown reluctance in vacating the Varanasi constituency for the Gujarat Chief Minister. According to sources, Joshi may be fielded from Kanpur.

If Modi contests from Varanasi, it could become one of the most intriguing constituencies to watch. Varanasi has an interesting combination with Muslims having a solid three lakh plus vote bank.

According to sources, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has decided to field its leader Arvind Kejriwal against Modi.

With as many as 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, it is the key for any party to come to power in Delhi.

The BJP is also expected to declare its president Rajnath Singh as the candidate from Lucknow constituency, who is keen to contest from there after leaving his Ghaziabad seat.

According to reports, BJP is likely to finalise over 100 seats when it takes up seats in crucial states of Bihar, Delhi, Punjab, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Odisha, Kerala and Maharashtra.

The BJP has already declared the names of a total of 203 candidates across the country for the upcoming general elections.  


Latest News from India News Desk