Senior BJP leaders Lal Krishna Advani, Rajnath Singh, Narendra Modi, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and Murli Manohar Joshi are present in today’s meeting along with several other party leaders.

The BJP leaders are expected to declare the candidates for Bihar, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat and Maharashtra.

According to sources, the seats of Advani, Modi, Sushma Swaraj, Murli Manohar Joshi, Jaswant Singh and Yashwant Sinha will be finalized in the meeting. Modi is seen as a possible candidate from Varanasi seat. The contentious Varanasi seat has become a bone of contention between supporters of Joshi and Modi. This issue had also cropped up in the last meeting of central election committee where Joshi sought a clarification from the party high command.

BJP chief Rajnath Singh is likely to contest from Lucknow while Yashwant Sinha is likely to contest from Hazaribagh.

The party had last week declared 106 candidates in various states.


Latest News from India News Desk