The BJP announced 52 candidates in its second list including five from Assam, 20 from Karnataka, three from Kerala, five from Odisha, two from Tripura and 17 from West Bengal.

The names were finalised by the BJP’s Central Election Committee, which met here on Saturday. Apart from Yeddyurappa, party candidates from Karnataka include former chief minister DV Sadananda Gowda from Bangalore North and party general secretary Ananth Kumar from Bangalore South.

Yeddyurappa had floated his own party after resigning as chief minister following his indictment by the Lokayukta for alleged corruption.

He returned to the BJP earlier this year. The list of 52 candidates includes many sitting MPs, former ministers and party office bearers.


Latest News from State News Desk