62-year old Stalin, first named youth wing Secretary in 1984, has been holding the post since then while steadily climbing in the party hierarchy. He was re-elected Treasurer for the second five-year term earlier this month.

He was also named member of the party's high-level policy planning committee which also comprise among others Karunanidhi, his daughter and party women wing chief Kanimozhi, former union ministers A Raja and Dayanidhi Maran, and former minister, and DMK General Secretary K Anbazhagan.

After the re-election of Karunanidhi as President by the newly-constituted DMK General Council earlier this month following organisational elections, the party today announced office-bearers for various party wings as required under party rules.

The appointments reflect accommodation of senior party workers, including former ministers and former district secretaries, and young faces in various party bodies, an exercise seen as an effort to keep the party united ahead of the assembly elections due early next year.

Rajya Sabha member K P Ramalingam, a supporter of expelled DMK leader M K Alagiri, has been named secretary of the party's farmers wing despite. He had faced disciplinary action earlier.

Former MP T K S Elangovan, who was party's organisational secretary and spokesperson, has now been named member of high level committee and Headquarters Spokesperson (Secretary-Media relations).
Other prominent members of the high-level committee include Headquarters Principal Secretary Duraimurugan, Deputy General Secretaries V P Duraisamy, Sarguna Pandian, I Periasamy, Subbulakshmi Jegadeesan, Organisational Secretary RS Barathi former Ministers Arcot N Veerasamy, Ko Si Mani, a former district secretary and MLA, Karuppasamy Pandian.

Latest News from State News Desk