Bhopal: The Bharatiya Janata Party has nominated four candidates for the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha on the basis of liking of RSS, the proximity of senior leaders and caste equation.

Despite hectic lobbying for nominations, senior party leader Vikram Verma and organization secretary Meghraj Jain failed to reach the Upper House. Both the leaders have come from Malwanchal region where the BJP has been in a better position.

The party has nominated former Rajya Sabha Deputy-Chairman Nazma Heptullah, Kaptan Singh Solanki, party general secretary Thawarchand Gehlot and cash-for-vote scam accused Faggan Singh Kulaste.

Heptullah has not been in the state politics. Senior party leader Lal Krishna Advani had recommended her name for nomination to Upper House.
Sources said that Chief Minister assured Vikram of getting nominated to the Upper House.

Eyeing on the tribal votes in the state, the party has nominated Kulaste who has been advocating for tribal president for BJP’s state unit.

Solanki has been renominated to the Rajya Sabha as he enjoys massive support in the RSS. Solanki had strong backing of Sah-Sarkaryawah of RSS, Suresh Soni.

As far as Gehlot is concerned, he has close proximity with senior leaders. Gehlot, a prominent schedule castes face of BJP, has lost the 2009 parliamentary elections from Devas Shajapur seat.