Bhopal: The political parties in Madhya Pradesh are gearing up for the biennial election to the Rajya Sabha (RS). Given the strength of the various political parties in the assembly, four seats are likely to go to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and one to the Congress.

Following the elections the BJP election committee will hold a meeting on March 11. The committee will comprise of state Chief Minister, party’s state unit president and15 other members to form consensus over the names. Some big names making rounds in the political circle for nominations are Nandkumar Singh Chauhan, Chndramani Tripathi, Vikram Verma, Satyyanarayan Jatiya and Faggan Singh Kulaste.

On May 28 the five RS members from MP are retiring. It includes Meghraj Jain (elected directly after Arjun Singh’s death), Narayan Singh Kesari, Vikram Verma, Captain Singh Solanki and Ansuiya Uikey.
In Rajya Sabha, Madhya Pradesh has a total of 11 representatives. Apart from the five members who will retire this year, there are others in the league who will retire in coming years. Prabhat Jha, Maya Singh and Raghunandan Sharma will complete term on March 28, 2014. On the other hand Anil Dave, Chandan Mitra and Dr Vijaylakshmi Sadho will finish their tenure on June, 10 2016.

The Election Commission has declared programme for the elections to the five RS seats lying vacant in MP. The notification will be issued on March 12 and by April 1 the poll procedure will be completed. After the issue of notification on March 12, the last date for filing the nomination is March 19 and withdrawal on March 22. If necessary, voting will be done on March 30.